Gallery

KEWPIE DOLL

Like most people, I have a favorite toy from my childhood which I keep to this day.  Actually, I am already a teenager when my parents gave me this doll.  I am not sure if he is an original Kewpie Doll, he has no markings, just a red apron with a Japanese character written on it and I do not know what that means (i lost the apron).  I call him “Bethonk.”  It’s actually from the comic character which was famous then in our place, THONK the robot and his human daughter Bebe.  Anyway, he is my transition doll, given to me just before I graduate from high school.  After having played with a lot of  ordinary cheap plastic dolls, i moved on to the type of dolls that are not really meant to be played with, something collectible of sort….(well, I still play with Bethonk,  sometimes, when I’m feelin’ tired and low, I will just embrace him and my cares seems to vanish…has an uplifting effect).

BETHONKBETHONK IN HIS SWIMMING TRUNK

9 thoughts on “KEWPIE DOLL

    • Hello Maricris, thank u for visiting…..well I can’t sell that big kewpie coz it was a gift from my parents. Did you check out Japanimation? Did you not saw them during Toycon? They’re the only one I saw selling big kewpie like mine, but theirs is more vintage looking. I think I have one but it’s just about 7″ and doesn’t have that anatomy of a boy he he he……..I dont know where i put it.

      Like

    • Hi maricris, Ok I’ll keep a note of that/or if ever I chanced upon kewpies, I shall alert you. U can usually find (smaller version) in a Japan, korean, Hongkong thrift stores. Thank you for visiting. Same to you God Bless.

      Like

  1. Hi! I am also from the Philippines do you have any idea where to purchase this kewpie doll? I also collect kewpie dolls. Yours is a beautiful doll. I have the same doll, but I gave it to my niece. I hope to hear from you! God bless

    Like

    • Hello Maricris, thank you for visiting my blog. I know I’ve seen one in Cubao Expo (Marikina Shoe Expo) the area where COD used to be. I forgot the name of the shop, it’s the store next to Remnants/Remy’s Thrift Shop. But I don’t think it’s for sale, it looked like an antique kewpie doll.

      You can also try inquiring from Japanimation. I saw they are selling old kewpie dolls during Toycon a couple of years ago in Megamall. They might still have one. They usually join trade fairs. I lost their phone number but you can Google it. Hope these helps 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

