The One That Got Away

Been a while since my last post…….I haven’t been going to thrift stores like I used to, but even so, there’s still a lot of dolls that I want to write about, just don’t have that much time.  Anyway, this post is not about a prospective husband or bf that got away, what else could it be?

I was on my way out for a snack when I pass by a thrift store and saw the clerk starting to put up their new arrivals of toys and bags.  From outside I could see their display and got curious on one item in the shelf.  A doll still in her box, about 15″ tall, ghostly white color, long blond hair, faceless…..well almost.  All she had on her face is a pair of “eyeless socket” and slightly shaped nose, she wears a long blue/black robe and I think I saw a mask and an apple inside her box……..I WANT HER!

I asked the clerk if its ok to buy the doll even though they are still closed, she told me to come back later when they open.  So I did at exactly the time she said and hurriedly went inside.  The doll is gone!  I just don’t know how to feel at that moment, I wanted the doll so badly I scanned the whole store, discreetly check each customers who might be carrying the box…..but none of them has her! I stood there for a while until a man stooped beside me to check his stuff, and there she is!  He has her already!  I tapped the box he was holding and ask him that’s a doll?  Almost like I want to demand “that’s my doll!!”

Anyway, since he has not yet paid for her, I asked the clerk if maybe …just maybe…she could sell it to me instead, am willing to add a few bucks just so I can have her…..but of course she said sorry, the man came in first and got the doll first.

I went home empty handed, feeling like I lost in a game……….kept thinking about the doll for a week.  The doll’s name?   Little Apple Dolls.. by artist Ufuoma Urie

The Doll I saw was Sine Of Souls

Image

SINE OF SOULS
series 4

(note:  the picture above was taken from google images and is not mine)

8 thoughts on “The One That Got Away

    • Hi diva, I can’t describe how I felt that day, I almost had her! I am probably just a minute or two late when i arrived, either my watch is late or their clock is set advance! Maybe the man waited for them to open while I went back to our place. Anyway, she’s not really meant to be mine I guess……thanks diva for your comment, take care 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

