MY FIRST VINTAGE BARBIE

I’m sure all Barbie Collectors would want to have even at least one vintage Barbie, the ones that came out in late 1950’s, unfortunately, I don’t own one.  Mine is just a reproduction.  I wasn’t aware that the Barbie I knew from the 80’s is not her original face.  So after seeing photos of vintage Barbies, I started wishing for one.

For weeks my thoughts were filled with the doll in a Zebra Bathing Suit!  I don’t want to buy online because they are too expensive.  But I have these strong feeling that I will have one.

Then one lazy Sunday afternoon, I just felt like going to American Depot in Scout Borromeo.  It wasn’t even my schedule to go thrifting because I was at the mall.  I often go there in the morning because it’s far from my place.  It’s a weird feeling, go there at 3pm?  I must be crazy (in 2 hours it will be dark soon) but I kept seeing the picture of a vintage Barbie in my head!  So I did go out on a hunch!

When I arrived at the store, there are already a lot of customers with their kids playing all over the place and a few collectors I believe, I could only sigh, what chances do I have now?  I went straight to that glass table where they piled up all the dolls, I can see in total disarray now.  An indication that a lot of buyers have already been there.  Anyway, I usually try to clear one side of the table and then pile them up back neatly one by one, yes, as if I’m one of the storekeeper!  I do these everytime so I leave no stones unturned he he he and besides, I feel pity for these nude dolls!

Lo and behold!  I just can’t believe it!  Oh my, so I have ESP now?!  My first vintage Barbie!  Never mind if she’s a reproduction.  Talk about the power of the mind, I was really so surprised!  All limbs are intact, however, she has stains all over her face, dent marks on some parts of her body, and the face paint, well check out her pictures here.  Now comes the hard part, how much will they give this to me?  Sometimes I sense they jack up the price at the counter, so I talked to Barbie (yes I’m crazy I talk to my dolls sometimes) “I traveled far, if you want to come with me, you have to convince them to give me an affordable price, otherwise, I will have to leave without you”….how weird can anyone get?

At the counter I asked the sales clerk if the stains would come off or not?  And if ever, can I return it?  That is my opening spiel (it usually work) and the clerk gave me a positive smile.  She said that the doll is a “returned item” and I can’t do anything about the stain just like the first buyer.  Then she gave me an offer I can’t refuse, Php65.00 for the doll!  No return, you buy it as is.  And we went home together, enjoying the view while riding the MRT!

To this day, I admit not having enough time to do something about the stains.  Not yet.

4 thoughts on “MY FIRST VINTAGE BARBIE

  1. Cien says:

    Don’t use acetone….Baka Mabura yung Mukha ng doll….wash the doll thoroughly with a mild soap….use benzac acne cream on the stains and place it under the sun for a day…be careful not to put cream on the paint. After a few maibilad Check Kung Nawala yung stain and repeat if necessary. Hope this helps…

    Like

    • Hello cien, thank you very much for that suggestion, I will try that and look for that cream, I hope it will work (I have not tried anything yet…) I will update my post for the result 😉 thank u

      Like

  2. Maybe acetone will work but you will need to use a lot of cotton buds!

    That place is where I go to for Monster High dolls. Sometimes I find dolls in the bins and not together with the Barbies so I make sure I go through the other toys as well.

    Like

    • Thanks for the suggestion, I just hope the paint wont come off. You’re right, some dolls get mixed up with stuff toys and other items, you really have to go through all bins (if you’re patient 😉 enough) I haven’t been there for months now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

