DAISO’S ELLY DOLL (Part 1 of 2)

The first time I saw Elly was in a thrift store.  Back then I didn’t know who she was, for me she’s just another cheap clone from China or made by our local manufacturers here in the Philippines.  But even though, I must say she has her own appeal, but not enough to make me take her home, so I left her with the rest of the mangled dolls.

Then in one of my visit to Daiso/Saizen at Robinson’s Galleria I found dolly clothes but for whom?  I searched for the doll but the clerk said the last piece was sold long ago and the management didn’t replenish their stocks anymore.  I was curious, I searched their branch in Glorietta but only found an assortment of her outfit.  I bought a few which I earlier posted here and several months later, the same pieces went on sale for as low as Php25.00 to Php10.00! 

Ok, I got all the design I want, but still no doll.  I know I can use it for Licca and some small dolls but these cute line belongs to her and created for her, she should get the credits!  So just recently visited the store at Galleria again and found a few of Elly’s dress on sale again.  I inquired about the doll, I got same answer.  I was not satisfied with “no stocks” reply specially when the clerk didn’t even budge to double check.  So I searched from one isle to another, it was gut feeling and I was right!  There she was hanging behind other toys! 

The last piece?  Maybe she got left behind in the stock room and now she looks pitiful. 

Clad in her jersey yellow bathing suit, Elly’s body is made of cheap hollow plastic.

ELLY DOLLHer hair is not as soft or as thick as Licca’s and her head is not fully rooted.  She has this round head connector that is molded as part of her neck which for me is good and safe.  I like dolls with this type of head connector, I don’t have to worry about accidentally breaking the neck.

ELLY'S PLASTIC BODY

ELLY’S PLASTIC BODY

I bought her school uniforms, will have to try them on for my next post.

ELLY'S SCHOOL UNIFORMS

ELLY’S SCHOOL UNIFORMS

To be continued.

One thought on “DAISO’S ELLY DOLL (Part 1 of 2)

Leave a Reply

